Schafer, Meier unanimous first team all district

-A A +A
By Joel Stevens, Associate Editor

    Luke Schafer and Nate Meier were both unanimous first team offensive and defensive selections on the 2010 Eight-Man District 8 Football Team released last week.
    Schafer, a junior, was tabbed as the first team quarterback after leading the district with just over 2,400 yards and 37 touchdowns passing. Schafer added 611 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground. On defense, Schafer had 98 tackles and picked off four passes.
    Meier, also a junior, bulled his way to a district-leading 1,674 yards and 30 touchdowns rushing for the 12-1 Knights. On defense, the 6-foot-2, 220 pound noseguard racked up 126 tackles including 29 for loss.
    Also earning unanimous first-team honors from Mills County were East Mills’ Daniel Duysen at wide receiver and Dominick Aistrope, Dallas Franks, Austin Hansen and Nick Williams from Fremont-Mills.
    In all, the Knights had a district-best nine first team selections.

2010 Eight-Man
District 8 Football Team
First Team
    Offense: QB: Luke Schafer, East Mills. RB: Nate Meier and Nick Williams, Fremont-Mills; Greg Focht, Stanton. WR: Daniel Duysen, East Mills; Joel DeLong, Nishnabotna; Derrian Bredberg, Fremont-Mills. OL: Dominick Aistrope and Dallas Franks, Fremont-Mills; Andrew Cerven, Stanton; Ethan Burge, Sidney. UTILITY: Tyler Havrum, Stanton. K: Travis Tupper, East Mills; Antonio Rodriguez, Sidney. KR: Austin Hansen, Fremont-Mills.
    Defense: DL: Nate Meier and Joey Carlson, Fremont-Mills; Austin Bechtold, Stanton; Ethan Burge, Sidney. LB: Nick Williams, Fremont-Mills; Daniel Duysen, East Mills; Shayne Larson, Stanton; Jakob Gordon, Sidney. DB: Luke Schafer, East Mills; Tyler Havrum, Stanton; Josh Larsen, Fremont-Mills. UTILITY: Greg Focht, Stanton. P: Tyler Havrum, Stanton. KO: Timmy Myers, Villisca.

Second Team
    Offense: QB: A.J. Scarborough, Fremont-Mills; Doug Raymond, Nishnabotna. RB: Brendon Hardy, Sidney; Austin Greig, Villisca; Trevor Schaaf, Sidney. WR: Collin Nahkunst, Nishnabotna; Brent Hansen, Stanton; Levi Allen, Essex. OL: Greg Marshall, Stanton; Pierre Bassich, East Mills; Alec Hendrickson, Nishnabotna; David Howell, East Mills. UTILITY: Andrew Thompson, Nishnabotna. K: Logan Wood, Fremont-Mills, Timmy Myers, Villisca. KR: Levi Allen, Essex.
    Defense: DL: Seth Phillips, Fremont-Mills; David Howell, East Mills; Jason Clemens, Stanton; Dakota Dovel, Nishnabotna. LB: Logan Wood, Fremont-Mills; Zach Adcock, Villisca; Kaleb Kahue, Nishanbotna; Tyler Walter, Stanton. DB: Austin Hansen, Fremont-Mills; Andrew Thompson, Nishnabotna; Levi Allen, Essex; Brent Hansen, Stanton. UTILITY: Derrian Bredberg, Fremont-Mills. P: Derrian Bredberg, Fremont-Mills. KO: Antonio Rodriguez, Sidney.