Rams wrap up regular season with dual victory over T.J.

-A A +A
By Joel Stevens, Associate Editor

    The Glenwood wrestling team wrapped up its regular dual season with a 60-22 victory over Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson on Thursday.
    The Rams won 10 of the 14 matches and improved its dual record to 14-5 this season.

    “I thought we wrestled pretty well,” said Glenwood coach Matt Dyer. “We didn’t have school or practice for a couple of days and I thought we were going to come out a little rusty, but that wasn’t the case. T.J. (Thomas Jefferson) had some of their better kids out of the line-up but I think we still would have done as well if they were in the line-up.”
    Cole Peckham (112 pounds), A.J. Clark (125), Nate Harms (130) Josh Clark (140), Zach Magnussen (145), Cody Crouch (152), Jon Williams (171) and Hunter Hoffman (189) all recorded falls over the Yellowjackets.
    The Rams' 15-4 record places them fourth among conference teams in duals this season.

    “At the start of the year I didn’t know how well we would do in duals,” said Dyer. “We’ve had a lot of new faces in our line-up with limited varsity experience. Winning 15 duals is a big thing and it shows how this team battles in each dual to win. This is one  of the most successful dual meet seasons we have had since I have been coaching. I am very proud of the team and how they ended their dual meet season.”
    The  Rams head to Johnston on Saturday for Class 3A Districts. The top two wrestlers at each weight qualify for the state meet with the top two teams qualifying for regional duals for a chance to qualify for Dual Team State. 
    “Our goals are to place in the top two at districts as a team and qualify as many guys as we can to State,” said Dyer. “We are excited about the next two weeks and ending our season doing  the best we can.”

Glenwood 60,
C.B. Thomas Jefferson 22
    103: Billy Lucy, G, won by forfeit. 112: Cole Peckham, G, won by fall over Randy Schultz, TJ, 1:38. 119: Sam Jameson, G, lost by fall to Steve Ruby, TJ, 3:41. 125: A.J. Clark, G, won by fall over Ryan O’Neal, TJ, 1:57. 130: Nate Harms, G, won by fall over Charles Weaver, TJ, 1:49. 135: Steve Gutschenritter, G, won by forfeit. 140: Josh Clark, G, won by fall over Jeff West, TJ, 1:50. 145: Zach Magnussen, G, won by fall to Mike Davison, TJ, 4:43. 152: Cody Crouch, G, won by fall over Aron Taggert, TJ, 3:09. 160: Alex Reinert, G, lost by major decision to Cody Hammers, TJ, 12-4. 171:  Jon Williams, G, won by fall over Jacob Morgan, TJ, 3:46. 189: Hunter Hoffmann, G, won by fall over Derek Bazer, TJ, 5:25. 215: Josh Pachl, G, lost by fall to Mitch Rounds, TJ, 3:01. 285: Jake Christiansen, G, lost by fall to Trevor Rhoades, TJ, 4:33.