Three Rams named Hawk-10 softball

-A A +A

Glenwood Community High School softball players Sophie Ringsdorf, Molly Bryan and Ana VanScoy have been selected as members of the All-Hawkeye 10 Conference softball team for the 2009 season by a league wide vote of conference coaches.

Ringsdorf and Bryan were both repeat first team selections. VanScoy was named to the second team. VanScoy was an honorble mention selection a year ago.

Ringsdorf, a senior and four-year starter for the Rams in centerfield, led Glenwood with nine homeruns, 27 runs driven in, 35 runs scored and 16 stolen bases while batting .328. Bryan went 23-12 in the circle with a school season-record 214 strikeouts for the Rams. She also batted a team-best .400 and smacked six home runs and 18 doubles at the plate. Bryan was one of only three freshman named to the first team along with Creston's Madison Frain and Katlin Briley.

VanScoy, a sophomore, was named to the second team as a shortstop. VanScoy hit .355 this season and drove in 16 runs.

The Rams' Aubree Eckhart was an honorable mention selection.

All-Hawkeye 10

Conference Softball

First Team

Madison Frain, Katlin Briley and Aubrey Pendegraft, Creston; Tamie Drees, Amanda Niehaus and Kelsey Eischeid, Kuemper Catholic; Brittnie Krieser and Sammi Cedillo, Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Brittany Bogler, Brooke Shaben and Chelsea Cave, Harlan; Molly Bryan and Sophie Ringsdorf, Glenwood; Amand Eller, Denison; Paige Wilson, Shenandoah.

Second Team

Shelby Kramer, Creston; Kirsten Van Zuiden and Mary Klocke, Kuemper Catholic; Allie Martinez, Kristen Waters and Jorden Morgan, Council Bluffs Lewis Central; Malissa Andersen, Harlan; Kaylee Buch, Clarinda; Jami Redel and Gabi French, Red Oak; Ana VanScoy, Glenwood; Liz Honke, Atlantic; Kylie Perkins, Shenandoah; Rachel Koch and Sydney Weber, Denison.

Honorable Mention

Jill Johnson and Carla Smith, Creston; Rachel Hinners, Kuemper Catholic; Danielle Stewart, Harlan; Shala Davidson, Clarinda; Aubree Eckhart, Glenwood; Taylor Williams and Liz Matheny, Atlantic; Shelby Piper, Denison; Lindsey Hastings, Shenandoah.