Six from area on all-Corner baseball squad

-A A +A
By Joel Stevens, Associate Editor

    Six area athletes were named to the All-Corner Conference baseball team released last week.
    Charlie Ruff, Daniel Duysen and Luke Schafer, all of East Mills, were tabbed as first team selections along with Fremont-Mills’ Corey Morrical, James Hill and Austin Switzer.
    League coaches, who vote on the team, awarded unanimous selection to Schafer, Nishnabotna’s Andrew Thompson, Levi Allen of Essex and Brendon Hardy of Sidney.
    Ruff was named first-team as a pitcher after going 6-7 with a 3.36 earned run average and striking out 86 this season. He also helped the Wolverines at the plate, hitting a team-best .456 with 24 runs driven in.
    Schafer, the Wolverines’ leadoff man and centerfielder, hit .348 with 27 stolen bases this season.
    Duysen was named a first-team infielder after hitting .386 with 20 RBIs.
    Morrical, a first baseman, led the Knights with a .422 average while driving in 14 runs.
    Hill and Switzer, both named first team outfielders, hit .277 and .379 respectively. Hill led the Knights with 17 RBIs and Switzer drove in 10 runs and stole 17 bases.
    David Howell and Colby Jennings, both of East Mills, were named to the second team.
    Chase McCollum of Fremont-Mills was named to the second team.
    East Mills’ Kyle Ryun was an honorable mention selection.

2012 Corner Conference Baseball
First Team
    Charlie Ruff, Luke Schafer and Daniel Duysen, East Mills; Casey Cruickshank, Brendon Hardy and Michael Coates, Sidney; Zach Adcock, Villisca; Robby Bruce, Joseph Heitshusen and Andrew Thompson, Nishnabotna; Levi Allen and Cameron Kinney; Corey Morrical, James Hill and Austin Switzer; Greg Focht, Stanton.

Second Team
    Chase McCollum, Fremont-Mills; Zach Dailey and Justin Moyer, Essex; Jeff Marshall, Stanton; Max Mauderly, Villisca; David Howell and Colby Jennings, East Mills; Nicholas Shipley, Clinton Clark, Noah McKeever and Jacob Cain, Sidney; Johnny Wood and Tyler Beam, Nishnabotna.

Honorable Mention
    Andrew Cerven, Stanton; Austin Sorensen, Villisca; Kyle Ryun, East Mills; Riley Scroggie, Nishnabotna; Richard Abalos, Clarinda Academy.