School Board Field Full

-A A +A

Seven Candidates Competing For 3 Seats

By Joe Foreman, Editor

There’s only room for three of them, but seven Glenwood-area residents want to serve on the Glenwood Board of Education.

The Mills County Auditor’s Office confirmed Friday that the seven candidates have filed the necessary paperwork to have their names on the ballot for the Sept. 8 election. School board seats currently occupied by Bill Agan, David Warren and Frank Overhue are up for election this year. All seats on the board are now elected at-large.

Overhue is not seeking re-election, but Agan and Warren are among the seven candidates. They’re joined in the race by Dave Blum, Henry Clark, Tim Harms, Edward Lund and Rex Ruth.

The top three vote-getters will be elected on Sept. 8, the date school district elections will be conducted throughout the state of Iowa.

In the Malvern Community School District, incumbents Brenda Koger and Susan Stogdill are both seeking re-election, while Jeff Poort is running unopposed to fill a vacant seat.

Peter Franks of Hastings and Tracey Anderson of Emerson are seeking election to the board in the Nishna Valley Community School District.