Republicans Prevail in Mills County

-A A +A

Crouch, Killpack Win, Swimming Pool Measure Fails

By Joe Foreman, Editor

Republican candidates easily won county, state and federal races in last Tuesday’s general election in Mills County, while Glenwood residents  rejected a $2.2 million bond issue that would have partially funded construction of an outdoor swimming pool.

    In the two contested races for offices at the Mills County Courthouse, Republican incumbent Richard Crouch defeated candidate by petition Jack May, 2,729-1,800, for a four-year term on the Mills County Board of Supervisors. In the race for Mills County treasurer, Republican Rebecca Dix Killpack defeated candidate by petition Craig Florian, 3,164-1,388.
    Running unopposed, Republican Eric Hansen was elected Mills County Attorney with 3,841 votes, while incumbent Republican Mills County Recorder Vicki McClintic garnered 3,964 votes as an unopposed candidate.
    In Glenwood, voters turned down the swimming pool bond issue by a  count of 745-706. The 49-percent approval for the measure came up well short of the 60 percent needed for passage.
    In state races, Republican state senator Hubert Houser was re-elected in District 49, outdistancing Democrat Scott Schondelmeyer in Mills County by a count of 3,455 to 1,239.
    State representatives Richard Anderson (District 97) and Greg Forristall (District 98) were re-elected running unopposed as Republican incumbents.
    In the Iowa’s governor’s race, Republican Terry Branstad tallied 64 percent of the vote in Mills County (3,102), easily defeating incumbent Democrat Chet Culver with 33 percent (1,615).
    Also claiming victory in Mills County were Republicans Matt Schultz (Secretary of State-elect), Secretary of State Bill Northey, attorney general candidate Brenna Findley, state auditor candidate David Vaudt and state treasurer candidate David Jamison. Schultz, Northey and Vaudt were elected to office by Iowa voters, while Findley and Jamison went down to defeat to Democratic incumbents Tom Miller and Michael Fitzgerald.
    Incumbent Republican Steve King was re-elected in Iowa’s 5th congressional district, defeating Democrat Matt Campbell. King won in Mills County, 3,287-1,354.
    Republican U.S. Senator Charles Grassley was re-elected with a victory over Democrat Roxanne Conlin. Grassley won Mills County by a margin of 3,623 to 1,063.
    Mills County had a 46- percent turnout (4,940 of 10,687 registered voters) for the election. Over 19 percent (948) of the voters who participated in Mills County voted a straight Republican ticket, compared to 7 percent (354) who voted straight Democratic Party candidates.
    Next to the governor’s race, maybe the biggest election night story statewide was the removal of Iowa State Supreme Court Justices Marsha Ternus, Michael Streit and David Baker. In Mills County, the three justices each received only a 38-percent “Yes” vote for retention from citizens who voted on the issues.
    It is widely believed that the vote (54 percent to 46 statewide) to remove the justices was a rejection of the  Supreme Court’s ruling that allows same-sex marriages in Iowa.