Rams second at Rollin Dyer Invite

-A A +A
By Joel Stevens, Associate Editor

    Sam Jameson, Seth Warren and Steve Gutschenritter won first place medals in their divisions for the Glenwood wrestling team in a runner-up team finish at the Rollin Dyer Invitational on Saturday in Atlantic.
    The host Trojans edged Glenwood 255.5 to 205 in the team scoring. Johnston was a distant third with 172 points.
    Jameson (112-pounds), Warren (119) and Gutschenritter (135) breezed into their title matches undefeated and finished the day that way. In all, eight Rams made the finals of their weight classes.
    “The guys really came together after Tuesday’s loss against Creston and put together a pretty good tournament,” said Glenwood coach Matt Dyer. “This was one of the best team efforts I had seen from our team in a long time.  We had eight (wrestlers) in finals and three won it so it was a good day.     “Everyone got down to weight and this will help make our team stronger in the long run.  We have one more date before the break, so we want to keep this momentum going and close out the month of December with some dual wins.”

    The Rams will take the next two weeks off for Christmas before next being in action at Red Oak on Jan. 6.

Rollin Dyer Invite
Atlantic, Iowa
Team Results
    1. Atlantic, 255.5. 2. Glenwood, 205. 3. Johnston, 172. 4. Winterset, 149. 5. West Central, 20.

Glenwood Placewinners
    103: Billy Lucy, third place;  Chase Evans, sixth place; Collin Williamson, seventh place. 112: Sam Jameson, first place; Cole Peckham, second place. 119: Seth Warren, first place. 125: AJ Clark, third place. 130: Nate Harms, second place. 135: Steve Gutschenritter, first place; Jordan Woodruff, fifth place. 140: Josh Clark, second place. 145: Zach Magnussen, fifth place; Jordan Krewson, sixth place. 152: Cody Crouch, second place. 160: Alex Reinert, third place; Jonah Strand, sixth place; Shane Huston, seventh place. 171: Jon Williams, second place. 189: Hunter Hoffmann, second place; Drayton Slaughter, eighth place. 215: Josh Pachl, seventh place. 285: Jake Christiansen, eighth place.