Primary Election June 5

-A A +A

    Polls will be open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. for the Tuesday, June 5, primary election in Mills County.
    Republican voters will have several offices to vote on for county, state and federal office.
    Three Republicans are seeking two seats on the Mills County Board of Supervisors - incumbents Joe Blankenship and Ron Kohn, both of Glenwood, are challenged by Lonnie Mayberry, also of Glenwood.
    Incumbent Mills County Auditor Carol Robertson of Glenwood is being challenged by Angie Winquist of Glenwood.
    Mills County Sheriff Eugene Goos of Glenwood is unopposed in his re-election bid.
    Two Republican candidates are running for the District 23 seat in the Iowa House of Representatives - Mark Costello of Imogene and Raymond Chase of Glenwood.
    Joni Ernst of Red Oak is the only Republican running for the District 12 seat in the Iowa State Senate.
    Congressman Tom Latham is the lone federal candidate on the Republican primary ballot in Mills County. He’s seeking the District 3 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.
    Only one name appears on the Democratic Party ballot in Mills County - Congressman Leonard Boswell, who is also seeking the District 3 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.
    With no Democrats seeking office in any of the county or state races in Mills County, the outcome of Tuesday’s Republican primary will likely determine who will be elected in November’s general election.
    Profiles of Republican candidates seeking office in Mills County are published inside today’s edition of The Opinion-Tribune (Page 5A).
    Results of the primary election will be posted Tuesday night on The Opinion-Tribune website, www.opinion-tribune.com, and on the newspaper’s Facebook page.