Kruse, Lucy named to Hawk-10 second team

-A A +A
By Joel Stevens, Associate Editor

Glenwood’s Morgan Lucy and Tori Kruse have been selected as second team members of the 2008-2009 Hawkeye 10 Girls Basketball All-Conference Team in a vote of conference coaches.

Lucy, a freshman, led the Rams in scoring (10.5 points per game) and rebounds (10.6 per game). Her 235 total rebounds this season ranked second in the conference.

Kruse, a senior, shot 40.3 percent from behind the arc (54-of-134) and scored 9.6 points per game.

The Rams’ Tabi Evans was an honorable mention selection.

Kuemper’s Kelsey Eishedi, Tamie Drees and Amy Dentlinger, Denison’s Amanda Eller, Abby Mendlick and Brooke Wehle, Council Bluffs Lewis Central’s Kyley Simmons and Harlan’s Amber Leinen were voted to the first team.

Eishedi, Dentlinger, Simmons and Leinen were all unanimous first team selections.

Leinen led the Hawkeye 10 in scoring this season at 14.5 points per game.

Hawkeye 10 Girls Basketball

All Conference

First Team

Kuemper: Kelsey Eishedi, Tamie Drees, Amy Dentlinger; Denison: Amanda Eller, Abby Mendlick, Brooke Wehle; Council Bluffs Lewis Central: Kyley Simmons; Harlan: Amber Leinen.

Second Team

Kuemper: Cassie Gehling; Council Bluffs Lewis Central: Taylor Turgeon; Harlan: Brittany Bogler, Chelsea Cave; Shenandoah: Kristin Comstock; Glenwood: Morgan Lucy, Tori Kruse; Atlantic: Anna Warnimont.

Honorable Mention

Council Bluffs Lewis Central: Breann Smith; Denison: Jasmine Bassett; Clarinda: Shayla Davidson, Laura Steinauer; Atlantic: Erin Westerning, Maggie Robinson; Glenwood: Tabi Evans; Shenandoah: Kayla Adamson; Creston: Kierra Smith, Megan Birchard; Red Oak: Arinda Abbuhl, Kate Renander.