City Elections Tuesday

-A A +A

    Glenwood Mayor Kim Clark is unopposed in her Nov. 8 re-election bid. Clark is seeking a second two-year term as mayor.
    City council candidates Cheryl Evans (Ward 1) and Craig Florian (Ward 2) are running unopposed, but  incumbent Kay LeFever is being challenged by Heidi Kloeckner for her at-large council seat. Florian has previously served as the Ward 1 councilman, but was forced to resign earlier this fall when he moved into Ward 2.
    Three candidates are running unopposed in Malvern - Toni Michel (mayor), Lantz Powles (city council) and Jessica Winstead (filling vacancy on city council).
    Pacific Junction Mayor James Lovely is unopposed, but seven candidates are vying for five seats on the city council - Rodney Bents, Patricia Hatcher, Cory Kerns, Richard Kerres, Earl W. Smith Jr., Connie Turner and Andy Young.
    Silver City Mayor Rose Schoening is being challenged by George Allen, while Debra Belt, Jamie Cheyney, Peter Kloeckner, Betty Millard and Sally Vitamvas are seeking seats on the city council. Five seats are up for election. The Mills County Auditor’s office reported last week that a correction has been made to a previously published Silver City ballot for city council. The ballot now reads “Vote for 5” instead of “Vote for 3” as published in Mills County newspapers. Silver City residents are also voting on two public measures related to their public library. Public Measure A reduces the term of appointed library board members from five years to three years. Public Measure B would require the library board’s appointment of a librarian to be made with the approval of the city council.
    Charles Moyers is unopposed in his bid for Emerson mayor, as are Paul Faxon (filling vacancy on city council) and Lana Moyers (city council). Two additional seats are open on the council in Emerson with no candidates.
    Troy Hatcher is running unopposed for mayor in Hastings. Mike Coates, Kindra Copperstone, Christine Court-ier, Dustin Crouse and Michael Moraine are up for five seats on the city council. Tyran Story is running for city treasurer.
    Mike Baumfalk is unopposed for mayor of Henderson.  Competing for three city council seats are Steve Frink, Scott Schondelmeyer, Wanda Williams and Adam Viner. Garret Horgdal is unopposed for a vacant seat on the council.
    Polls will be open from 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. on Election Day. Questions regarding the election should be directed to the Mills County Auditor’s Office.